2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Congratulations to our contributing authors John B. Goodenough, of the University of Texas at Austin, who shared the 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry  with M. Stanley Wittingham, of Binghamton University and Akira Yoshino, of the Asahi Kasei Corporation and Meijo University, “for the development of lithium-ion batteries.”

We’ve made these articles freely available to celebrate this achievement:

Oxide-Ion Electrolytes, J.B. Goodenough, 2003 Annual Review of Materials Research
Jahn-Teller Phenomena in Solids, J.B. Goodenough, 1998 Annual Review of Materials Research

Annual Reviews is a nonprofit publisher dedicated to synthesizing and integrating knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society. To find out how we create our highly cited reviews and stimulate discussion about science, please watch this short video. Members of the media can visit our Press Center to sign up for journal access.