2019 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel

Congratulations to contributing authors Esther Duflo and Abhijit V. Banerjee, of MIT, and Michael Kremer, of Harvard, who shared the 2019 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel “for their experimental approach to alleviating global poverty.”

Duflo was a founding Editorial Committee Member of the Annual Review of Economics. Listen to a 2011 interview in which she discusses the methods she developed and for which she is being recognised, in English and French.

We’ve made these articles freely available to celebrate this achievement:

The Experimental Approach to Development Economics, A.V. Banerjee and E. Duflo, 2009 Annual Review of Economics
Under the Thumb of History? Political Institutions and the Scope for Action, A.V. Banerjee and E. Duflo, 2014 Annual Review of Economics
Improving Education in the Developing World: What Have We Learned from Randomized Evaluations?, M. Kremer, 2009 Annual Review of Economics
Providing Safe Water: Evidence from Randomized Evaluations, M. Kremer, 2010 Annual Review of Economics
Using Randomized Controlled Trials to Estimate Long-Run Impacts in Development Economics,
M. Kremer, 2019 Annual Review of Economics

Annual Reviews is a nonprofit publisher dedicated to synthesizing and integrating knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society. To find out how we create our highly cited reviews and stimulate discussion about science, please watch this short video. Members of the media can visit our Press Center to sign up for journal access.